LIFE: as an intern
The chronicles of a six-month-long internship to become the ultimate Rock 'n Roll journalist…

Brain Fart…

I had a little chuckle today while reading an article on Charlie Sheen’s strange quotes (found at: http://bit.ly/fFkUvM)

He is a total loose cannon, that one. I mean, really.  One of my faves: “I’m tired of pretending I’m not special. I’m tired of pretending I’m not a total bitchin’ rock star from Mars. People can’t figure me out. They can’t process me. I don’t expect them to. You can’t process me with a normal brain.”

Seriously?

Thought I’d pass that on to make you smile. Whenever you’re having a bad day, just think of Charlie Sheen.  At least you’re not digging your hole publicly… although… I must admit it is superbly entertaining.

What is it about human nature that we find other people’s public humiliation or failure so appealing?  Is it purely for the amusement?  Or do we thrive on the fact that someone is worse off than we are?

I read somewhere that success is often enjoyed most when it is combined with a friend’s failure. WTF?  It’s quite shocking.

(But if you really think about it, it’s true. Everybody wants to be one-up on somebody else – which leads to most things in life being a competition. )

We are quite a deprived species.

Our need to succeed will probably lead to our ultimate failure.  Look at technology, for example. Artificial Intelligence is advancing at an alarming rate and all the while the human race is becoming more lazy, allowing machines and computers to do our work.  Socially, we are getting lazy as well.

Face-to-face communication is an option nowadays, with the likes of Facebook, Twitter and cellphones. Making new friends is taken up by playing online video games, or AI robots, which are popular in the East.

International film giants have taken this topic to a further level.  Movies such as the Matrix trilogy and I, Robot have looked into the future and shown us a dystopian world where technology takes over.

It’s quite scary.

This is what Charlie had to say on the subject: “No. Not going to. Period. The end. I blinked and I cured my brain. Can’t is the cancer of happen.” (just kidding – he was talking about rehab)

But, ya, so it’s the end of the week and I’m listening to an amazing song to start it off – Everybody’s better by The Mighty Mighty Bosstones.  Give it a listen.

And HAPPY WEEKEND! =)

P.S my Goodluck article with Juliet Harding can be found on the Entertainment Africa site here: http://bit.ly/dF9rAR

No Responses to “Brain Fart…”

Leave a comment